With registration for summer classes just around the corner here is a little history of Morven that might spark your interest. The land that Morven lays on today was originally given to William Champe Carter in 1730. In 1795 Thomas Jefferson purchased the piece of property for his “adopted son” Colonel William Short. Once purchasing the property Jefferson managed the grounds and constructed the Claim House in 1796. In 1813 Jefferson deeded the property to a man by the name of David Higginbotham. Higginbotham renamed the property “Morven” and constructed the main house that still stands today. Throughout the years Morven changed hands many times before John Kluge purchased the estate. In 2001 Kluge donated Morven to the University of Virginia. The gift consisted of 7,379 acres. The University sold off parts of the estate but still holds 2,913 acres. There are many different projects happening at Morven today, one of which includes the Morven Summer Institute. MSI is a rigorous “May Term” which gives the student unique hands on experience in their field of interest. Registration for The Morven Summer Institute begins April 14 and 15 through SIS!